Have a Plant: Fruits & Veggies for Better Health

How do I modify vegetarian recipes to exclude beans, lentils, and soy?

Answer

Vegetarian/vegan recipes include beans, peas, lentils and soy products as a protein source. Any recipe (vegetarian or not) can be modified to meet your needs. If you find a recipe that sounds really good, but it contains lentils for example, swap them out for meat or an alternative protein such as quinoa. Recipes are a guide. Search online for alternative ingredients that can serve as a nutritious substitute if you are having a hard time. If you still are not sure what to do, work with a dietitian in your area to create balanced meals that are allergy friendly.

Related Content