In addition to knowing the average weather pattern in your locale, knowing which geographic region your continental state falls into is another general guideline to follow when deciding which fruits and vegetables to plant or harvest … and when.

Northeast (NE) – Maine, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, New Hampshire, Vermont, New Jersey

Southeast (SE) – Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas

East Central (EC) – West Virginia, Tennessee, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma

Upper Central (UC) – Michigan, Wisconsin, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming, Idaho, Washington, Oregon

Southwest (SW) – California, New Mexico, Nevada, Arizona

Other Stories